

BUTTE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

Minutes March 2, 2023

(A complete voice recording of the Commission's meetings can be obtained from www.buttelafco.org)

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Connelly called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m., March 2, 2023, in the City of Oroville Council Chambers, 1735 Montgomery Street, Oroville, California. The meeting was also available to be viewed through Zoom Webinar.

1.1 Roll Call

Commissioners Present: Al McGreehan (Special District)

Larry Bradley (Special District Alt.)

Bruce Johnson (City) Greg Bolin (City) Steve Betts (Public) Tami Ritter (County)

Bill Connelly (Chair-County)

Commissioners Absent: Bill Sharman (Special District), Tod Kimmelshue (County)

Alternate Commissioners Present: Don Rust (Public)

Alternate Commissioners Absent: N/A

Others Present: Steve Lucas, LAFCo Executive Officer

Shannon Costa, LAFCo Deputy Executive Officer Jill Broderson, LAFCo Management Analyst Krystal Bradford, LAFCo Commission Clerk Scott Browne, LAFCo Legal Counsel

2. CONSENT AGENDA

2.1 Approval of the Minutes of February 2, 2023

Chair Connelly asked if there were any questions or comments from the Commission or any public comment on the consent agenda. No comments received.

Commissioner Johnson made a motion to approve the consent agenda, approving the February 2, 2023 minutes. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bolin.

The motion was carried by the following vote:

AYES: Commissioners Bolin, Johnson, Ritter, McGreehan, Bradley, Betts, and Chair Connelly

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAINS: None

3. NOTICED PUBLIC HEARINGS

3.1 23-08 – Dissolution – Drainage District No. 2

Shannon Costa summarized the proposal for the Commission.

Chair Connelly asked if there were any public comment. None were received.

Chair Connelly closed public comment.

Commissioner Bolin made a motion to approve and adopt Resolution 15 2022-23. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Betts.

The motion was carried by the following roll call vote:

AYES: Commissioners Bolin, Johnson, Ritter, McGreehan, Bradley, Betts, and Chair Connelly

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAINS: None

Due to technical issues, at 9:06 am Executive Officer Steve Lucas asked Chair Connelly to bump Agenda Item 3.2 down on the agenda to allow LAFCo staff to correct technical issues.

4. REGULAR AGENDA

4.1 Items Removed from the Consent Agenda- None

4.2 23-11 – South Feather Water and Power Agency – Foothill Boulevard Annexation No. 8

Shannon Costa summarized the proposal for the Commission.

Chair Connelly asked if there were any public comment. None were received.

Chair Connelly closed public comment.

Commissioner McGreehan made a motion to approve and adopt Resolution 19 2022-23. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bolin.

The motion was carried by the following roll call vote:

AYES: Commissioners Bolin, Johnson, Ritter, McGreehan, Bradley, Betts, and Chair Connelly

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAINS: None

5. Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

Chair Connelly opened to public comments on items not on the agenda.

None were received. Chair Connelly closed public comment.

6. REPORTS AND COMMUNICATIONS

6.1 Executive Officer's Report

Steve Lucas summarized the Executive Officer's report, provided updates, and answered questions on a variety of items including City Selection Committee, Special District Member Nominations, Annual Audit, County Libraries, Paradise Sewer project, Tuscan Ridge and state LAFCo updates.

Chair Connelly asks if there were any public comment on any of these items. None were received.

6.2 Correspondence - None

7. **ADMINISTRATION - None**

3. NOTICED PUBLIC HEARINGS - Continued

3.2 21-06 – Formation of Tuscan Water District

Chair Connelly recuses himself at 9:14 am. Commissioner Betts takes over as Chair.

Steve Lucas and Attorney Scott Browne summarized the project and displayed a PowerPoint presentation for the Commission, answering questions from the Commission as needed.

Chair Betts asked if there were any public comment.

Nine members of the public commented on the item. The project proponents were available to answer questions about the proposal.

Chair Betts closed public comment.

Commissioner Bradley made a motion to approve and adopt Resolution 18 2022-23. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bolin.

The motion was carried by the following roll call vote:

AYES: Commissioners Bolin, Johnson, McGreehan, Bradley, Betts

NOES: Commissioner Ritter

ABSENT: None

ABSTAIN/RECUSE: Chair Connelly

8. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Connelly returns at 10:32 am.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:32 a.m. to the next LAFCO meeting scheduled for April 6, 2023.

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION